Company logo Logo caption
Horizontal bar
Horizontal bar
Left corner image Healthcare IT Standards and Guidelines Right tab image

Products > Healthcare IT > Standards and Guidelines

Interoperability Iconic imageInteroperability (the enabling of communication across software and hardware from multiple vendors) in Healthcare Information Systems is necessary to provide comprehensive and accurate patient information in an Electronic Health Record. Such interoperability requires the creation, acceptance and implementation of clinical data standards which govern the way patient information is electronically stored and exchanged.

We have incorporated the following popular and necessary technical standards and guidelines to offer IT products which are interoperable across enterprises and help assure quality of patient care.

International Healthcare IT Standards and Guidelines
  • HL7

    The Health Level SevenOpens external link is a standard for the electronic interchange of clinical, financial and administrative information among independent health care oriented computer systems. We offer products incorporating both HL7 v2.5 and v3.0 RIM, along with other related standards and guidelines like CDA, RBAC, EHR-S DSTU and CCOW.

    The Digital Imaging and Communications in MedicineOpens external link is the industry standard for transferred of radiologic images and their medical information exchange between computers.

    The Health Insurance Portability & Accountability ActOpens external link prescribes security standards to protect confidentiality and integrity of individually identifiable health information, past, present or future.
  • Click on this button to go to top of page
  • The IHE

    Integrating the Healthcare EnterpriseOpens external link is an initiative promoting and supporting the integration of systems in the healthcare enterprise. We incorporate IHE technical frameworks to help improve the efficiency and effectiveness of clinical practice by improving the Workflow, Information Accuracy, Information Availability and enabling Cross-System Functionality.
  • Telemedicine

    Our e-Health applications make use of both the Telemedicine technologies in use in most clinical contexts. These are the
    1. Store and Forward which is used for transferring digital images from one location to another. A digital image is taken using a digital camera, ('stored') and then sent ('forwarded') to another location. This is typically used for non-emergent situations, when a diagnosis or consultation may be made in the next 24 - 48 hours and sent back. E.g. Teleradiology, Telepathology.
    2. Two-way Interactive Television (IATV) which is used when a 'face-to-face' consultation is necessary. It is usually between the patient and their provider in one location and a specialist in another location. Videoconferencing equipment at both locations allow a 'real-time' consultation to take place. All specialties of medicine have been found to be conducive to this kind of consultation, including Psychiatry, Internal Medicine, Rehabilitation, Cardiology, Paediatrics, Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Neurology.

We have incorporated support for the following coding systems in addition to other guidelines like CCHITOpens external link, CDCOpens external link etc.


    The Logical Observations: Identifiers, Names, CodesOpens external link is a coding system for the electronic exchange of laboratory test results and other observations and facilitate the exchange and pooling of results, such as blood hemoglobin, serum potassium, or vital signs, for clinical care, outcomes management, and research.
  • UMLS

    The Unified Medical Language System MetathesaurusOpens external link from National Library of Medicine (NLM) develops and distributes multi-purpose, electronic “Knowledge Sources” and associated lexical programs. We use the UMLS products to enhance our applications in systems focused on patient data, digital libraries, Web and bibliographic retrieval, natural language processing, and decision support.

    The Systematized Nomenclature of Medicine Clinical TermsOpens external link identifies procedures and possible answers to clinical questions, such as test results.
  • ICD-9CM/10

    The International Classification of Diseases-9 Opens external link consists of diagnosis and disease codes commonly used in billing and claims. Diagnosis codes are composed of three to five digit identifiers intended to describe a disease entity with significant precision. Beyond reimbursement issues, these codes unify the language of diseases among professionals, government entities, third party payers, and statisticians.

    The HCFA Common Procedural Coding SystemOpens external link consists of a series of codes developed by the federal government and specifically the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, USA (CMS). CMS uses these codes primarily for Medicare and Medicaid services in the USA.
  • Click on this button to go to top of page
Left tab image Find out… Right corner image
Left tab image eHealth Apps… Right corner image

Copyright © Reli-e-Marg 2010, All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Sitemap